#### **CULTURAL COMMITTEE REPORT**

## **JUNE 2023-JULY 2024**

### Dr. Rajani Dewan

#### **Coordinator, Cultural Committee**

Cultural Committee along with the Students' Council organized a two-day intercollege event Vibes Di' Vista on 12th and 13th April 2024 at St. Joseph's College in the Arrupe open air quadrangle. The event mainly comprised of different competitions where various colleges from hills and plains were invited. The events for the competitions were solo dance, group dance, rap battle, solo song, battle of bands, treasure hunt, photography, short films, painting, doodling, quiz, face painting, rangoli and E-sports like BGMI, MLBB and Valorant. An overwhelming participation was seen from the hills and plain colleges. The participating colleges were Southfield College, Darjeeling, Darjeeling Government College (Darjeeling), Sonada Degree College (Sonada, Darjeeling), Ghoom Jorebunglow Degree College, Darjeeling, Salesian College, Sonada Campus, Kurseong College (Kurseong, Darjeeling), Bijanbari Degree College (Bijanbari, Darjeeling), Mirik College (Mirik, Darjeeling), Cluny Women's College (Kalimpong, Pedong), Inspiria Knowledge Campus, Siliguri, North Bengal St. Xavier's College, Rajgani, Kalimpong Degree College, Kalimpong, Loyola College of Education (Namchi, Sikkim), SRM University, Sikkim, Salesian College, Siliguri Campus and St. Joseph's College (Darjeeling). The enthusiastic and energetic participation of the students was seen. Reputed judges for each event were invited who were experts in their filed. The Chief Guest for the event was Mr. Keshav Gurung, General secretary of Gorkha Dukha Niwarak Sammelan (GDNS) Darjeeling.













The winners of the different category in the events were as follows:

- 1. Treasure Hunt- SRM University
- 2. Photography- St. Joseph's College
- 3. Short film-St. Joseph's College
- 4. Painting St. Joseph's College
- 5. Doodling St. Joseph's College
- 6. Quiz- St. Joseph's College
- 7. Face painting- St. Joseph's College
- 8. Rangoli- Loyola College of Education
- 9. Solo Dance- St. Joseph's College
- 10. Group Dance- St. Joseph's College
- 11. Solo Song- St. Joseph's College
- 12. Battle of Bands- St. Joseph's College
- 13. Rap- St. Joseph's College
- 14. Online Gaming Competion
  - i. MLBB- St. Joseph's College
  - ii. BGMI- St. Joseph's College
  - iii. Valorant- St. Joseph's College

As the maximum events was won by St. Joseph's College so it was declared as the Best Performing College.

The Cultural Committee organized the Graduation Day on 14th June 2024. The day began with the photo session of the graduating students along with their respective departmental teachers. After the photo session all the students were requested to line up outside the Campion Hall according to their departments so that their respective HODs could lead them to the Campion Hall. Mr. Ashish Chettri, the MC for the day welcomed the graduating students. Principal and Vice Principal (Administrative) said few words to the graduating students. The Valedictory Speech was given by Mr. Akshay Sharma, Student's Head Councillor. The students who had excelled in their academics for the session 2021-2024 in each department were given medals and certificates.







# STUDENTS AWARDED ON THE GRADUATION DAY FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE FOR THE SESSION 2021-2024

Sl. No.	DEPARTMENT	POSITION	NAME OF THE STUDENT
1.	M.A. English	1st Position	Arbin Tamang
1.	This English	2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Purnima Rai
2.	Physics	1st Position	Suruchi Subba
		2nd Position	Pramudita Darnal
3.	Chemistry	1st Position	Rishika Chhetri
	-	2nd Position	Sudarshan Sharma
4.	Mathematics	1st Position	Pankaj Sha
		2nd Position	Binay Rawat
5.	Computer Science	1st Position	Sewan Sashankar
		2nd Position	Anuj Pandey
6.	B.C.A	1st Position	Aroma Chhettri & Karma Tashi
			Gyatsho Bhutia
		2nd Position	Ayush Pradhan
7.	Botany	1st Position	Adesh Sapkota

		2nd Position	Pema Dolma Tamang & Deepna
			Sharma
8.	Zoology	1st Position	Uzma Anjum
		2nd Position	Shriya Pradhan
9.	Microbiology	1st Position	Bidisha Chhetri
		2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Annie Gajamer
10.	B.Sc. Program	1st Position	Manish Chhetri
	_	2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Prasiddha Moktan
11.	B.Com	1st Position	Arzoo Khatoon
		2nd Position	Divisha Gurung
12.	B.Com Program	1st Position	Chetna Singhal
	_	2nd Position	Isha Prasad
13.	Economics	1st Position	Rajeev Gurung
		2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Deepa Basnet
14.	Nepali	1st Position	Lalita Thami
	-	2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Bhaskar Rai
15.	History	1st Position	Genuine Iswarari
	-	2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Suraksha Subba
16.	Political Science	1st Position	Zemiyang Tamang
		2nd Position	Kusum Biswakarma
17.	Sociology	1st Position	Nim Lhomu Sherpa
		2nd Position	Akrity Thapa
18.	English	1st Position	Nishtha
	_	2nd Position	Nikhil Shanker
19.	B.B.A	1st Position	Bibek Goutom
		2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Prapti Mukhia
20.	Mass Com. & Journalism	1st Position	Palmu Tamang
	·	2 <sup>nd</sup> Position	Siddhi Rai
21.	Geography	1st Position	Aishika Das
		2nd Position	Sulochana Pradhan
22.	B.A. Program	1st Position	Paul Lepcha
		2nd Position	Upeshna Gurung

Certificates were also given to the Council Members and Class Representatives. Mementos were given to the graduating students. Dr. Smriti Rai proposed the vote of thanks. The day ended with the College Anthem.